
ES-3116 

03-16

1 

Simplified Reporting for Food Assistance Households 

This information is for the Food Assistance Program only. 
Did you know that Kansas DCF participates in the Treasury Offset Program to collect unpaid 
food assistance claims from Federal Income Tax refunds?  Avoid an overpayment by 
understanding your reporting requirements.   

In addition, if you are found guilty of fraud for intentionally not reporting a change in income, the 
following penalties apply: you can’t get food assistance for 12 months upon the 1st finding of fraud; 
you can’t get food assistance for 24 months upon the 2nd finding of fraud and you are permanently 
ineligible for food assistance for the 3rd finding of fraud. If eligible, the remaining household members 
may continue to get benefits. This information is for the Food Assistance Program only. Fraud 
penalties for TANF cash assistance and child care can result in lifetime disqualification at the first 
offense 

You are required to report the following two changes for food assistance, within the first 10 days of 
the month following the month the change occurs. 

1. You must tell us if your household's TOTAL monthly gross income goes over your reporting
limit. See below for YOUR reporting limit.  This includes income from work AND from other
income sources like child support, SSI, Social Security disability or retirement benefits, and
unemployment.  This also includes the income of any persons who have moved into your
home.  Gross income means all earned and other income.  Gross income is the amount before
taxes, garnishments and other deductions.

o We are currently counting earned income of  $ 
o We are currently counting other income of     + $

   TOTAL household income     =  

2. If your household has a person who is age 18 through 49 and working, you must tell us when
the person’s work hours become less than 20 hours per week.

YOUR reporting limit is $_______. 

Complete the following each month to determine if your income goes over the reporting limit. If it 
does, then you must report the change by the 10th day of the following month. 

MONTH 

Gross Income 
from earnings 

  $_______   $_______   $_______   $_______   $_______   $_______ 

Other income +$_______ +$_______ +$_______ +$_______ +$_______ +$_______ 

TOTAL =  _______ =  _______ =  _______ =  _______ =  _______ =  _______ 

Is the TOTAL more than your reporting limit? If yes, you are required to report to DCF! 

Call your DCF office at:________________________________________________________ 

Please see the back for EXAMPLES that will help you understand your reporting requirements! 

State of Kansas 
Department for Children and Families 
Economic and Employment Services 

Case Name: Case Number:
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Example 1:  Mary. Household size of 3. 
We are currently counting earned income of   $ 0 
We are currently counting other income of  + $ 500 

 TOTAL household income = $ 500 

Mary gets a job in late April. Her first paycheck is in May. She is completing the following chart at the 
first of June. 

Reporting limit is $2177 for a household of 3.

MONTH   May 

Gross Income 
from earnings 

$ 1,720 

Other income +$ 500 

TOTAL = 2220 

Since the $2220 is OVER her reporting limit of $2177, she is required to report the change to DCF by 
the 10th day of June. DCF will evaluate the change in income to see if Mary will continue to get 
benefits. 

Example 2: Using the same situation above, Mary does NOT report her change in income by the 10th 
day of June. She doesn’t report the change until the time of her next review in December.  

Due to the increase in income, Mary has an overpayment of food assistance benefits. A claim of $600 
is established for the overpaid benefits. The case is referred for an Administrative Disqualification 
Hearing. Mary is found guilty of first time fraud and cannot get benefits for 12 months.  

She does not make monthly payments on the overpayment and the $600 balance is referred to the 
Federal Treasury Offset program. She does her taxes in March and is expecting a refund of $1000. 
However, since she did not repay the food assistance overpayment, the $600 was deducted from her 
Federal tax return and she only gets a refund of $400. The claim is now repaid, however, her plans 
on spending the $1000 refund must change as she will now only get $400. 

Example 3: Bill, aged 60, and his son Tom, aged 25, get food assistance. Tom is working 25 hours a 
week. His work hours are decreased to 15 hours a week in May. Bill is required to report this change 
to DCF by the 10th day of June. 
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